Peavey 6505 +112 Switching Peddle

My friend and bandmate has been after a channel switching peddle for his Peavey 6505 +112 combo amp and with Christmas coming up I thought it’d be the perfect gift for him. But rather than buy one I decided to make one from some parts I had lying around.

The build was simple enough. The Peavey 6505 +112 uses a standard TRS cable to control channel switching so it was just a case of tying the tip and ring to the ground sleeve with stomp switches. Then some LEDs to indicate the channel.

I initially thought to use the voltage running through the foot switch out on the Peavey to power the LEDs. When I measured this I got 16v for the clean/disortion and 14v for the crunch switch. Since I didn’t have a big enough resistor to hand I decided to use a battery to power them instead. This also means that the foot switch will work with any amp that uses a TRS jack to switch channels.

Here’s the schematic:

SwitchDaddySchematic

SwitchDaddyInside

Curiously, in order to work correctly the Peavey needs to be set to the lead channel and the crunch switch on the amp also needs to be on.

And here’s the finished product:

I’ve got plans to develop this foot switch further by emulating the Boss FS-6 so that it could be used to control effects units as well as amps.

And in case you’re wondering, the name Switch Daddy comes from our band Hung Daddy.

 

~ by Jay on March 17, 2016.

Leave a comment